River Two-Time Champion of The Argentine Cup! Marcelo Gallardo’s team was the best team on the competition and closed it with a victory against Atlético Tucumán by 2-1 in Mendoza.

  • Share

A new final, a new title. River Plate closed the year with its mark and with joy after a complicated semester. Marcelo Gallardo’s team did what it had to do and played how it had to play to win the Argentine Cup once again.

 At the beginning of the match, River took the lead and played with short and concise passes. Thanks to this tactic, River approached the rival goal two times. Gonzalo Montiel had no luck with a bounce in the area, and Ariel Rojas was not able to kick it into the goal.

 After a bounce, Enzo Pérez sent a header to Ignacio Scocco, who beat Alejandro Sánchez and, with a soft header, scored the first goal. However, Atlético Tucumán drew the score in the following play thanks to Luis Rodríguez.

 From then on, each team had its chances. The rival had goal opportunities at Gervasio Núñez’s feet and Yonathan Cabral and Rodríguez’s heads. On the Millonario’s side, an individual play by Scocco made the ball pass near the first post, and later he could not reach a pass by Nacho González.

 During the second half, Gallardo’s team was the leader. Nacho Fernández scored a goal with a left shot that went straight into the angle, thus ensuring the victory. River could have scored more goals with a one-on-one by Scocco after a great individual play and a full-length dive by Jonatan Maidana that bounced on a post.

 El Millonario controlled the rest of the match and ended it with a well-deserved victory. It was the best team of the Argentine Cup and it celebrated with thousands of fans that went to the Malvinas Argentinas Stadium and with the million ones that followed it through the media. River is the great champion of Argentine soccer.


 RIVER PLATE: Enrique Bologna; Gonzalo Montiel, Jonatan Maidana, Javier Pinola, Marcelo Saracchi; Leonardo Ponzio (C), Ariel Rojas, Enzo Pérez, Ignacio Fernández; Gonzalo Martínez and Ignacio Scocco COACH: Marcelo Gallardo.

Substitutes: Germán Lux, Alexander Barboza, Milton Casco, Iván Rossi, Nicolás De La Cruz, Carlos Auzqui and Rafael Borré.

Substitutions: De La Cruz for Rojas, Auzqui for Pérez, and Borré for Scocco.

 ATLÉTICO TUCUMÁN: Alejandro Sánchez; Guillermo Acosta, Yonathan Cabral, Rafael García, Cristian Villlagra; David Barbona, Rodrigo Aliendro, Francisco Grahl, Gervasio Núñez; Favio Álvarez; Luis Rodríguez (C). COACH: Ricardo Zielinski.

Substitutes: Franco Pizzicanella, Nahuel Zárate, Nicolás Romat, Gonzalo Freitas, Alejandro Melo, Mauricio Affonso and Ismael Blanco.

Substitutions: Melo for Núñez, Blanco for Grahl, and Affonso for Barbona.

 Goals: Scocco, Fernández (RP); Rodríguez (AT).

Booked: Pérez, Martínez (RP); García, Villagra, Acosta, Aliendro (AT).

Referee: Fernando Rapallini.

Assistant Referees: Sergio Viola and Alejandro Mazza.

Fourth Official: Hernán Mastrángelo.

Photo gallery